Turkeys for Lunch

November 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

In an attempt to make lunches a little more interesting around our house I try to do something fun with the boys’ plates. In October we had lots of jack-o-lantern shaped lunches, but we hadn’t done anything fun in a few weeks.

Today when I asked the boys if they wanted a surprise lunch, Kellan said he wanted a turkey for lunch. “Like our pumpkins, mom!”

Ummm, jack-o-lantern = easy. Circle, face, stem, the end.

Turkey? I was clueless for a minute and then remembered the ever popular “hand turkey.” I’m sure you remember making one in preschool or kindergarten.

I quickly realized that my hand was too big for the bread I was using so I dug out a hand shaped cookie cutter.

I cut out two pieces of bread for each sandwich.

I also cut out cheese in the same shape.

Added carrots for feathers.

Finally, carrot shavings for the legs and nose, and a craisin for the waddle.

(We added some yogurt on the side!)

What do you do to spice up your kids’ lunches?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Things I Love Thursday – Craigslist Monday Goals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts From the Past

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


